You are currently browsing the category archive for the ‘Scotland’ category.

While looking for a list of five start hotels in Scotland with swimming pools I found there wasn’t one……so I made one. Here it is:

Fonab Castle Hotel

Cameron House

Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa and Island

Mar Hall

Hilton Glasgow

The Scotsman Hotel

Radisson BLU Glasgow

Trump Turnberry Resort

The Old Course Hotel St Andrews

The Gleneagles Hotel

Blythswood Square

Fairmont St Andrews

Auchrannie Luxury Lodges

The Balmoral

Sheraton Grand Hotel

Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel


With news today that JJB has finally collapsed, it’s worth taking a look back at other companies that Tom Hunter has been involved with or sold businesses to that have also subsequently collapsed. I’m not saying he is bad at business (he was Scotland’s first billionaire after all) but once he has sold a company they seem to have a knack of going bust.

  • Sports Division sold to JJB – Bust
  • Qube – bust
  • Office – sold, went bust and rebuilt without debts
  • USC – sold, went bust and rebuilt without debts
  • D2 – bust
  • Rangers FC – tried twice to buy them and they went bust
  • Travelodge – owns a portfolio of their properties and they have just agreed rent cuts due to them being in difficulties

So what does this record say about Tom? Is he cursed?

I created this list as I could not find them all together anywhere on the internet. I believe that they should all work, although some MPs use, e.g., please add a comment if you find an address that doesn’t work and I will update the list. Douglas Alexander Willie Bain Gordon Banks Anne Begg Gordon Brown Russell Brown Malcolm Bruce Iain McKenzie Menzies Campbell Alistair Carmichael Katy Clark Tom Clarke Michael Connarty Mike Crockart Margaret Curran Alistair Darling Ian Davidson Thomas Docherty Brian Donohoe Frank Doran Gemma Doyle Sheila Gilmore Tom Greatrex David Hamilton Tom Harris Jimmy Hood Stewart Hosie Cathy Jamieson Eric Joyce Charles Kennedy Mark Lazarowicz Angus MacNeil Michael McCann Gregg McClymont James McGovern Anne McGuire Ann McKechin Michael Moore Graeme Morrice David Mundell Jim Murphy Ian Murray Pamela Nash
Fiona.O’ Fiona O’Donnell Sandra Osborne Alan Reid Angus Robertson John Robertson Frank Roy Lindsay Roy Anas Sarwar James Sheridan Robert Smith Jo Swinson John Thurso Michael Weir Eilidh Whiteford Peter Wishart

I thought this might be handy for a few people. All the data is from the Scottish Parliament website. Adam Ingram Aileen Campbell Aileen McLeod Alasdair Allan Alex Fergusson Alex Johnstone Alex Neil Alex Salmond Alison Johnstone Alison McInnes Angela Constance Angus MacDonald Annabel Goldie Annabelle Ewing Anne McTaggart Bill Kidd Bill Walker Bob Doris Brian Adam Bruce Crawford Chic Brodie Christina McKelvie Christine Grahame Claire Baker Clare Adamson Claudia Beamish Colin Beattie Colin Keir Dave Thompson David McLetchie David Stewart David Torrance Dennis Robertson Derek Mackay Drew Smith Duncan McNeil Elaine Murray Elaine Smith Elizabeth Smith Fergus Ewing Fiona Hyslop Fiona McLeod Gavin Brown George Adam Gil Paterson Gordon MacDonald Graeme Dey Graeme Pearson Hanzala Malik Helen Eadie Hugh Henry Humza Yousaf Iain Gray Jackie Baillie Jackson Carlaw James Dornan James Kelly Jamie Hepburn Jamie McGrigor Jean Urquhart Jenny Marra Jim Eadie Jim Hume Joan McAlpine Johann Lamont John Finnie John Lamont John Mason John Park John Pentland John Scott John Swinney John Wilson Keith Brown Ken Macintosh Kenneth Gibson Kenny MacAskill Kevin Stewart Kezia Dugdale Lewis Macdonald Liam McArthur Linda Fabiani Malcolm Chisholm Marco Biagi Margaret Burgess Margaret McCulloch Margaret McDougall Margaret Mitchell Margo MacDonald Mark Griffin Mark McDonald Mary Fee Mary Scanlon Maureen Watt Mhairi Hunter Michael Matheson Michael McMahon Michael Russell Mike MacKenzie Stewart Stevenson Murdo Fraser Nanette Milne Neil Bibby Neil Findlay Nigel Don Joe Fitzpatrick Patricia Ferguson Patrick Harvie Paul Martin Paul Wheelhouse Rhoda Grant Richard Baker Richard Lochhead Richard Lyle Richard Simpson Rob Gibson Roderick Campbell Roseanna Cunningham Ruth Davidson Sandra White Sarah Boyack Shona Robison Siobhan McMahon Stewart Maxwell Stuart McMillan Tavish Scott Tricia Marwick Willie Coffey Willie Rennie